How do Automatic Status Updates work on the Mac app?

Automatic Status Updates for the Mac work by updating your status when your screen goes to sleep or your screensaver is enabled. To use Automatic Status Updates, you must belong to a role that grants you permission to manage your own current status. You can control the timing on this by updating your screen settings on the Mac.

Open System Settings on your Mac. Open Energy Saver setting.


The Turn display off after setting is your direct setting for when automatic status updates will happen. This image is set for 10 minutes. If your computer is not touched for ten minutes, the screen will turn off and Simple In/Out will update your status to out. If you open your computer, your status will change to in.

Enable Automatic Status Updates

Open Simple In/Out preferences and go to the Status tab.

To use Automatic Status Updates, tap the Enabled button on the left side. This will enable the right side options where you can control the other features:

Status Notifications: These are notifications that will display when your status changes automatically.
Overwrite Protection Notifications: These are notifications that will display when your status would have changed, but was stopped due to overwrite protection.
Custom Comments: You can customize the comment that is used when you check in or check out automatically. By default it will use your computer name. Whatever text is entered into the In or Out boxes will be used as the comment.